Catherine Cruzan

A New Realm of Fantasy

WonderCon 2014

Leave a comment

ORIGINALLY POSTED: April 18-20, 2014

ComiCon International’s WonderCon in Anaheim

IMG_4146Another wonder-filled weekend in Anaheim…

WonderCon 2014 seemed so much larger than it did in previous years.  It’s just a matter of time before it’ll be as difficult to score an Anaheim ticket as it is to score one for San Diego.  It’s no longer the well-kept secret of San Diego refugees.  That, or there are just so many more of us shut out of the San Diego con, despite our hours lurking in the virtual waiting room on ticket-purchasing day.

A huge, heartfelt thank you to my dear friend Rebecca for my San Diego ticket this year.  It’s been 6 years since I’ve been able to get in.  I can hardly wait.  She was the first one to go with me so many years ago.  It’s apropos she’s the one to help me get BACK IN.

Meanwhile, WonderCon was a completely different experience for me this year, because I spent half of it behind a book signing table.  The whole weekend was a payoff for all of those grueling hours I spent working on ELFKIND.  I felt as if I’d finally grasped some of the stars I’ve been reaching for.

Thank you to my friends, and everyone else who stopped by to say “hello”!

IMG_4269 IMG_4270 IMG_4280 IMG_4263

I did manage to squeeze in a few wonder-filled WonderCon moments when I wasn’t manning the table…

Most memorable was the Salem panel, complete with Shane West (nice!) and the show runners, Adam Simon and Brannon Braga, answering questions and giving us a sneak peek at the new WGN series.  I’ve since been watching it air on Sunday evenings, and I’m truly impressed with the writing.  I’m pleased they are incorporating so much research into the dramatization.  The actors are amazing, bringing it all to life, with fabulous costuming and dark, gritty cinematography.  I’m crossing my fingers they get a second season!

IMG_4147 IMG_4151 IMG_4155

Any other Faceoff fans out there?  I’ve been watching this SyFy show from its inception.  Cat and Nico were on the most recent season.  They were at the con, showing off their skills, and I even got a fun greeting from Nico, who almost made it to the finale show.  Both he and Cat are impressive artists.  I enjoyed watching them on the show, and now I can say I watched them live in action as well!

IMG_4158 IMG_4165

I squeezed in the Nerdist Panel and a visit to the Nerdist booth, since I’m always all about Chris Hardwick and company.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get his autograph due to my own book signing commitments, but I got one from Jessica Chobot. Yay!   =)

IMG_4339 IMG_4223 IMG_4332

Star Wars definitely represented this year, including a visit from my friends, The Darkside Riders!

IMG_4348

And of course the Dealer Room abounded with excitement as it always does.  Some of the shots I collected are down below, including one of the artist who created the little Minion I took home with me.    =)

IMG_4211 IMG_4187 IMG_4347 IMG_4175 IMG_4183 IMG_4207 IMG_4191 IMG_4205  IMG_4210  IMG_4215 IMG_4218 IMG_4227 IMG_4234 IMG_4238 IMG_4243 IMG_4257 IMG_4292 IMG_4319 IMG_4322 IMG_4328 IMG_4346

 

Author: ccruzan14

Engineer, Author, Speaker www.CatherineCruzan.com

Leave a Reply

