Catherine Cruzan

A New Realm of Fantasy

Patrick Brown of Good Reads in Brea, CA

Leave a comment

ORIGINALLY POSTED: Feb 9, 2013

Good writing begins with reading…

That’s what most good writers will tell you.

In fact, most writers I know were raised on books, and continue to devour book after book in an effort to slake their voracious appetites for reading throughout their adult lives.

Admittedly, given the limited amount of time I have for recreational reading these days, I supplement my physicial books and my Kindle with audio books on my iPone.  Which makes my daily commute more enjoyable to say the least.  Who looks forward to piling into traffic, right?  But there are those days I can’t wait to climb onto the 405 just so I can find out what happens next.  A big thank you to the person who thought of that!

This weekend, I was invited by an author friend of mine,DeAnna Cameron, to a meeting of the Orange County Chapter of the Romance Writers of America.  This is one organized group of writers, folks.  I was very impressed by their level of professionalism and organization, and the general outpouring of comaraderie and support.

Image

Patrick Brown of Good Reads

Their guest speaker was Patrick Brown, the Author Program Manger and Community Manager at GoodReads.

Which brings this meandering of thoughts full circle.  This gentleman gave a terrific presentation on connecting authors as readers to what GoodReads has to offer to the global community.

If you’re interested in what I’m reading these days, come join me on GoodReads as well.  After all, what is reading, if not nourishment for the soul?????!!!!!!!

Author: Catherine

Engineer, Author, Speaker www.CatherineCruzan.com

Leave a comment